Thursday, December 14, 2017

News Articles

In September of 2008 the Cities of Cottonwood Falls, Strong City and Chase County rural Water District #1 decided to perform a study regarding the construction of a Regional Public Water Supply System. The group received a 50 % cost-share grant from KDHE for the development of a preliminary engineering study.  In May 2011 Public Wholesale Water Supply District No. 26 was organized.  Each of the three entities appointed two members to the district.  The current members of the board are:  Mike Cahoone, President; Kevin Collins, Secretary; Bud Sisson, Treasurer; G.W. Yeager, Lisa Vega and Bruce Wells.  

In September of 2011 the district received a grant from the Bureau of Reclamation in the amount of $150,000 to complete a feasibility study.  

In December of 2011 the district submitted an application for funding to USDA-Rural Development, and received approval of loan funds in the amount of $2,359,000 and grant for $1,911,400.  The application was approved in September 2012.  In December, the district was awarded CDBG grant funds of $1,000,000 for a total of $5,270,400 for project funding.  

In March 2013 a pretreatment and reverse osmosis pilot plant was set up.  The water quality was determined to be better than expected.  

Bids for construction of the new water supply system are scheduled to be let by June 1, 2014.

Along with this project, the cities of Strong City, Cottonwood Falls and RWD #1 are making improvements to their distribution systems.  RWD started their project in April 2014, Cottonwood Falls is scheduled to begin June 2014 and Strong City plans to advertise for bids by the end of June 2014.

Post Rating

Kansas Federal Elected Officials

US Senate

Jerry Moran
Russel Senate Office Building
Room 361 A
Washington, DC 20510

Pat Roberts
109 Hart Senate Office Building 
Washington, DC 20510

US House of Representatives
Tim Huelskamp
129 Cannon House Office Building 
Washington, DC 20515

State Elected Officials

​Kansas Senate District 35
Jay Scott Emler
1457 Shawnee Road
Lindsborg, KS 67456

Kansas House of Representatives District 68
Tom Moxley
1852 S 200 Road
Council Grove, KS 66846

City Hall Information

City Clerk, Shari DeWitt
Deputy Clerk/Treas., Connie Pretzer

204 W. Topeka Ave.

P O Box 208
Strong City, KS 66869